The Number 1 Rule for Writing a Self-Help Book!

更新日期:1月 14

As a full-time book editor, I have been approached by many writers who have written a self-help book. Some have focused on mental health issues like anxiety and depression, some have concentrated on addiction and recovery, and others have centred on abuse and healing. Although these clients have had great ideas, methods and techniques that could really benefit their target market, they have all shared the same issue in common. Yep, you guessed it – a lack of research and evidence.

When someone in need picks up a self-help book with the hope of learning how to deal with a myriad of possible issues, that person expects to see that the author is an expert in that field with a credible bibliography and professional knowledge. If they realise that it’s full of opinion-based points with a lack of real knowledge and expertise, they will quickly put that book down and find one they can trust to help them.


It’s the same principle as if you visited the doctor, only to discover that the ‘professional’ behind the desk has not been trained at all, but an imposter who is full of opinions and guesses. You would dash straight back out of the room and demand to see a real doctor. Well, it’s the same for self-help books – if they lack authority, they won’t get very far.


PIN THIS IMAGE AND KEEP IT FOREVER! :)


So… the number one rule for writing a self-help book is to research your topic as much as possible and provide evidence to support what you write. For example, let’s pretend you are writing a self-help book for people who suffer with paranoia and paranoid thoughts. You may be inclined to write the following paragraph at some point in your book:

It has been said that no one really knows the exact cause of paranoia, but different people will have their own possible reasons and explanations. However, scholars and researchers have listed the main factors that could cause someone to experience paranoid thoughts.

The example above is only three lines long, but there is a lack of evidence, and therefore credibility, on three separate occasions:

1. It has been said that…


Who has said that no one really knows the exact cause of paranoia? Is the original source of this statement trustworthy, or has the author just made this point up for the sake of it?

2. …but different people will have their own possible reasons and explanations.

This section doesn’t lack as much evidence as the previous example, but if you wish to extend the reliability of what you’re saying, this is the perfect opportunity to add a case study or two to show individual reasons and explanations.

3. …scholars and researchers have listed…

What scholars and researchers? Well-known researchers who may have appeared on the TV? An organisation full of scholars and academics? These are just a few of the questions your readers may ask when they read this empty statement, so try to avoid sentences like this if you want to remain trustworthy.

Now, if you’re used to writing empty statements such as the ones I have listed above, you may be wondering how on earth you’re supposed to change that. Well, before you even begin writing the book, you should have carried out extensive research into the area you plan to write about. As a result, when you eventually start to write, you should have bags of evidence to support your claims.


Take me to course!

Let’s refer back to the previous example I wrote while I show you how to transform a hollow paragraph into one that will fill your readers will confidence and hope. Here goes…

According to Mind, the mental health charity in England and Wales, no one really knows the exact cause of paranoia, but different people will have their own reasons and explanations. For example, in the case study on the previous page, Lucy’s paranoia began after she experienced a traumatic experience as a child. Although not everyone with paranoid thoughts will share Lucy’s past, Mind has also given a list of potential factors that could cause a person to experience it.

As you can see from the new paragraph above, I have given much more evidence to support the three points, which increases the credibility for the reader. Instead of providing a lack of evidence like before, this example clearly states that the author has researched Mind and used their know-how to provide resourceful information that may be useful. Furthermore, rather than telling the reader that many other sufferers have different causes for their paranoia, including a real case study will show them other people's experiences, and they are then able to relate to them personally.

So, if you’re writing a self-help book about any topic, remember to research as much as you possibly can, provide evidence to support your points, and reference EVERYTHING! You don’t want the copyright police chasing you down!


Amazing Self-Help Books You Cannot Miss!


Check out the following self-help books that will spark inspiration for your own while teaching you how to structure and evidence your work! They may even help you with your own struggles as well!


The Wisdom of the Shire: A Short Guide to a Long and Happy Life by Noble Smith is PERFECT for fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and J. R. R. Tolkien!


Hobbits are known to live quiet, peaceful lives with hoards of food and comfy furniture, but in our modern world, we are constantly faced with a fast-paced lifestyle and the inability to switch off after a long day. However, this book draws attention to the tranquil characteristics of Hobbits and teaches you how to slow down and live in peace. Click the Amazon button on the left to grab your copy!



Russell Brand's Recovery: Freedom from Our Addictions provides a fun step-by-step guide for people who suffer from dependency and addiction.


When we think of addiction, we may automatically imagine an alcoholic or a drug addict, but this book offers help for ALL addictions. For example: smoking, gambling, shopping, sex, porn, caffeine, social media, video games, food and work are a few other things someone may depend on. Click the Amazon button on the left to swipe up your copy!




Rewire Your Anxious Brain by Catherine M. Pittman and Elizabeth M. Karle is an extremely helpful book for people who suffer with anxiety. Not only does it provide expert advice on how to overcome anxiety, panic and worry, it also teaches readers the neuroscience behind what causes such horrible feelings.


Click the Amazon button on the left to get your copy now!




KEEP READING...


ABOUT THE EDITOR


Hey! I'm Chelsea and I'm the book editor and proofreader at Stand Corrected Editing, my independent literary consultancy in the UK. I help passionate writers and authors to get their novels ready for literary agents or self-publishing.


In weekly blog posts, online courses and daily Instagram posts, I hope to spread my knowledge and expertise on how to make your novel a success, and be a mentor to others who desperately want to pursue a fruitful career as an author!


Let me ask you something...


  • Do you seriously want to pursue your passion of writing and publishing books people actually want to read?

  • Are you currently planning, writing, or editing your manuscript?

  • Are you ready to become a successful author?

Well then, you've come to the right place!


First time visiting Stand Corrected Editing? Start here!


Turn your writing into a career today!


© 2020 Stand Corrected Editing | Privacy Policy | Blog | Courses | Shop | About | Contact

Dorset, United Kingdom

Subscribe below to grab 50% off the editing course that will change your life!

  • The link to the Stand Corrected Editing Pinterest Page
  • The Stand Corrected Editing Instagram Page
  • The Stand Corrected Editing Facebook Page
  • The Stand Corrected Editing Twitter Page